Julien CLERC

Born in Paris, Clerc grew up listening to classical music in his father Paul Leclerc's home, while his mother Évelyne Merlot introduced him to the music of such singers as Georges Brassens and Edith Piaf. He began to learn the piano at six, and by 13, started to play by ear everything he heard on the radio.

During his secondary school and university days, he met Maurice Vallet and Etienne Roda-Gil, two of his main songwriters, and began to compose his first songs. He changed his name to Julien Clerc upon signing a contract with Pathé Marconi, releasing his first album in May 1968.

The album went on to win the Académie Charles Cros Record Award. In 1969, Clerc went on the Olympia stage for the first time to open for Gilbert Becaud's concert. Despite having been in show business for only one year, his performance was a...

Julien CLERC
Read more...
Photos © Tony Frank

Julien CLERC

Né à Paris, Clerc grandit en écoutant de la musique classique chez son père Paul Leclerc, tandis que sa mère Évelyne Merlot l'initie à la musique de chanteurs tels que Georges Brassens et Edith Piaf. Il commence à apprendre le piano à six ans, et à 13 ans, il joue à l'oreille tout ce qu'il entend à la radio.
Au cours de ses études secondaires et universitaires, il rencontre Maurice Vallet et Etienne Roda-Gil, deux de ses principaux auteurs, et commence à composer ses premières chansons. Il change son nom pour celui de Julien Clerc à la signature d'un contrat avec Pathé Marconi, et sort son premier album en mai 1968.
L'album remporte le Prix du disque de l'Académie Charles Cros. En 1969, Clerc monte pour la première fois sur la scène de l'Olympia en première partie du concert de Gilbert Becaud. Bien qu'il ne soit dans ...

Julien CLERC
Photos © Tony Frank